2018-2019 OMTA Board of Directors

Jean Johansen-Kuehn

President and President-Elect (2019-2020), Olympia Music Teachers' Association

Click Here to Email OMTA President

Jean holds a Bachelor of Arts degree and studied Piano Performance at Eastern Washington University and the University of Washington. Jean is a Washington State Certified Teacher of Music and has achieved Permanent Professional Piano status. She began lessons at age 5, and among her most influential teachers are Carolyn Paulis Allen, Mary Jane Clarke and Dr. David Roskowski.

In addition to teaching piano and composition for over 30 years, Jean has experience accompanying and as a solo pianist, playing for public and private events. She also has experience as an educator in public schools, in teaching music programs for young children, and teaching classroom music in a private school setting.

Jean has been is a church musician, plays piano for various public and private events, and is a member of the Olympia Sweet Adelines Chorus.

She has been a member of WSMTA for over 30 years, and held several offices with the board of the Olympia Music Teachers Association. Jean’s students have gone on to study music in college, some of which became music teachers and performers, and her composition students have won and placed in state competitions.

Ryan Sowers

Vice President, Olympia Music Teachers' Association

Click Here to Email OMTA Vice President

Ryan was born in 1968, began studying piano in 1973 and has been an Olympia resident since 1980. With his wife, Jean, he owns and operates Pianonova Piano Service which was established in 1994, after graduating from The Evergreen State College. Ryan has been an active member of the Piano Technicians Guild since 1992. His experience includes intensive training with Steinway & Sons, both at their New York factory and at Oberlin Conservatory. He has also attended week long seminars with Kawai and Yamaha, in addition to dozens of workshops and seminars sponsored by the Piano Technicians Guild. His specialties include: Action rebuilding, regulating, voicing, and concert quality tuning. 

Joseph Murrow

Treasurer, Olympia Music Teachers' Association

Click Here to Email OMTA Treasurer

Joseph Murrow is a pianist from Olympia, Washington, with experience as a solo performer, an accompanist for soloists and ensembles, and provides live music for events in the Olympia/Tumwater/Lacey area. He is currently an accompanist for the Olympia Youth Chorus, Tumwater High School, Capital High School, Lacey Presbyterian Church, Olympia Dance Center, as well as for soloists and ensembles performing at local competitions and adjudications

Joseph has served as musical director for local musical theatre organizations and programs, including Apple Tree Productions and Capital Playhouse. He is a regular volunteer pianist at Bonaventure of Lacey Memory Care ward, where he performs for residents.

Joseph is completing his Bachelors of Arts degree at The Evergreen State College, where he is a recipient of The Evergreen State College Foundation scholarship. He is a collegiate member of the Music Teachers National Association (MTNA), a professional music educator’s association.

Heidi Ritchie

Recording Secretary, Olympia Music Teachers' Association

Click Here to Email OMTA Recording Secretary

Heidi’s Bio here

Jan Rowen Music, NCTM

Communications Coordinator, Olympia Music Teachers' Association

Click here to Email OMTA Communications Coordinator

Jan Rowen Music is a Nationally Certified Teacher of Music (Piano).

She has taught piano and piano improvisation in the Olympia area for over 30 years. Jan is a Church Musician and directs the women’s vocal ensemble, Joysong Victorian Carolers.

Jan has held office for many years in the Olympia Music Teachers’ Association. She also frequently presents programs and workshops on improvisation and teaching rhythm to teachers’ groups and at conventions. She is an Adjudicator for Federated Music Clubs of Oregon, and for The Young Composers Project in Washington State.